If Everything I Knew Disappeared

Hello, lovelies. 🙂 Today, I am presenting a poem about holding on to the things and people of this temporary place called earth. We all struggle to let go of things–whether these things are ungodly friends who lead us into temptation, social media accounts that consume all of our time, or a job that we refuse to leave because we’re scared to embrace God’s true plan for our lives. 

I want to tell you this simple message: Everything you treasure, including your very life, could disappear in an instant. 

Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away (James 4:14).

Everything and everyone you know  could be gone with a single *poof*. Everything in this life, including life itself, is a vapor in the wind.

Except for Jesus. He is beyond this life and this world. He alone remains.

So instead of clinging to things and people, made from the dust of the earth, cling to the One who created them. Because He remains.

I hope this poem encourages and inspires you to rely solely on the Lord.

If everything I knew

Disappeared into the air,

Would I turn to run away?

Or would I recall Your care?

Would I rush into the darkness?

Or would I rush to Your arms?

Would I linger in my sadness?

Or would I run to Your heart?

 

I know I want You, Lord,

But I want the world, too.

I know I cannot have both,

And so now I have to choose.

Yes, I cling to empty things;

And I know my grasp is tight.

But Your grasp on me is tighter,

So, in You, I must abide.

 

If my fam’ly moved away,

I would never be the same.

If I had to leave my friends,

I would linger in the pain.

Would I put up barriers?

Or would I cling to Your side?

Would I hold onto Your goodness

If I had to say goodbye?

 

I know I want You, Lord,

But I want the world, too.

I know I cannot have both,

And so now I have to choose.

Yes, I cling to empty things;

And I know my grasp is tight.

But Your grasp on me is tighter,

So, in You, I must abide.

 

 

I’m holding on so tightly

To vapors in the wind.

In a moment, all could vanish;

And my life would feel so dim.

I must loosen my strong grip

On these vapors in the wind,

But I need Your guidance, Lord;

So please strengthen me within.

 

I know I want You, Lord,

But I want the world, too.

I know I cannot have both,

And so now I have to choose.

Yes, I cling to empty things;

And I know my grasp is tight.

But Your grasp on me is tighter,

So, in You, I must abide.

 

If everything I knew

Disappeared into the air,

I would need to run to You

Because You’re always there.

12 thoughts on “If Everything I Knew Disappeared

Add yours

  1. This is good! Convicting too!

    Lately. . .I can’t let go of my past. . .I used to do some stupid stuff to keep from falling to pieces. . .and the shame of it weighs me down so much. I feel like I have to go tell everyone too and it gets annoying because them knowing or not knowing doesn’t affect them and whenever I do tell people. . .it only makes the relationship awkward and gives me more shame. Do you have any advice? If not I understand.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Chrissy!

      I think I’d first suggest praying about it. Ask God to give you wisdom about the situation and peace in your heart. Second, never forget that God loves you and forgives you when you sin if you confess it to Him. Once we repent of sin, it’s gone. Its consequences may play out in our lives, but the sin is gone and we can move on from it. Third, I’d recommend talking to a trusted Christian adult, like a parent or mentor, about the situation and asking for guidance. They may have some wise advice for you.

      These are just my thoughts on the subject. I’m no Bible scholar, but I hope these suggestions help! 🙂

      Like

    1. Thank you, Tim!
      I wrote a small part of it during one of my devotions, but I wrote the majority of it later on. It may have been inspired by a Bible verse or passage, but I don’t remember which one! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

